The Cistercian abbey - a medieval monastery built in the transitional style of Romanesque /late gothic was
founded in 1222 by Iwo Odrowąż. It was surrounded by a wall and moat. The abbey was damaged by Tartars in 1241
and the building works were not finished before the time of Kazimierz the Great (XIV century). The abbey was
rebuilt several times: in the XVIth, XVIIth and most of all in the XVIIIth century. It is a monument of great
historical importance and artistic value. The whole complex consists of several objects. The most important
are: the gothic church of St.Wacław (XIII-XV century), the monastic parts and cloisters (XIII -XV century), the
priory (XV-XVI) and the abbot's palace (XVI century). Partially preserved buildings of the former grange are
situated in the southwest corner of the abbey walls. They consist of the administrator`s house, an inn, mill
and small chapel.
St Bartholomew`s church - a wooden parish church, built in 1466 by Maciej Mączka (the signature and the date
are preserved on the portal). Later the gothic structure was rebuilt several times- The interior decoration
dates back to the time of baroque and rococo (1766). The three-aisled plan of the church is unique for Polish
The palace - built in 1829 by Wincenty Kirchmayer in the style of classical eclecticism. The palace, which
replaced the old residence of Czartoryski and Poniński families, was rebuilt in the second half of the XIX
century. The surrounding park with a system of ponds and terraces is well preserved.
The church of St. Vincent and Our Lady - a classical building designed by Sebastian Sierakowski and erected
in 1806 on the site of an earlier wooden church (the parish dates from the XIIIth century). It is a rare
example of classical sacred architecture in Cracow today. The interior decorations came from the former church
of All Saints in Cracow. In front of the church stands an interesting little XIXth century chapel.
The parish graveyard - with a XIXth century neo-gothic chapel - mausoleum of the owners of Pleszów from the
Kirchmayer family. There are some other interesting monuments dating from the turn of the century and an
impressive modernist surrounding wall with round holes.
The manor house - an example of the classical style from the beginning of the XIXth century. The house with a
portico once belonged to the Badeni family. Only a granary is preserved from the big complex, which existed a
few years ago.
The old storehouse - a late renaissance manor house erected in 1603 by Jan Branicki. It has the form of a
tower topped with a crenellated parapet .The walls are decorated with a simple graffito. A renaissance portal
and a decorative fireplace are the only preserved elements of the interiors.
The manor house - a neo-renaissance villa with a front porch supported by cast-iron columns. The house was
built in 1863 for Paweł Popiel, an eminent politician, connoisseur of arts and restorer of Cracow monuments.
Only some traces of the park are preserved.
St. Gregory`s church - a gothic building from the XVth century. The church was
founded by Wierzbięta from Branice and replaced the earlier building damaged by Tartars in 1241. In 1925 Adolf
Szyszko-Bohusz added a Ruthenian-style chapel to the choir. The famous painted epitaph of Wierzbięta (circa
1420), now in the collection of the Szołayski Museum in Cracow, comes from the church. A stone monument of the
founder in the knight's armour survived can still be found in the church.
The manor house - a neo-renaissance villa built in 1874 for Badeni family. The coats of arms of the Badeni
and Wężyk families are situated on the pediment. An old park surrounds the house.
The new manor house - built at the beginning of XXth century in the style of picturesque eclecticism. The
house was designed by Tadeusz Stryjeński and was added as a wing to the old wooden manor dating from 1787. The
new manor incorporated the old storehouse once used as an Arian chapel. The adjoining houses stood together
creating a right angle. In 1953 the old manor was demolished
The dissident graveyard - an XVIIIth century manorial graveyard for Calvinists. The graveyard was established
for the members of Żeleński and Dębicki families. In the middle there is a round mound topped with a pyramid.
The grave of Żeleński family is situated inside the mound. Other classical monuments are placed around the
mound. The graveyard is a unique complex of objects of a great value.
The palace of the Wodzicki family - a classical residence rebuilt in the second half of the XVIIIth century
from the baroque palace. Some remnants of the farm buildings and a waterworks-monument connected with the visit
of the king Stanisław August Poniatowski have survived. The palace is a ruin surrounded by 4,5 hectares of
Ali Saints`Church- a wooden baroque building dating from 1648 with a XIXth century belfry. The late baroque
railing which encircles the church came from the palace in Kościelniki. There are some interesting paintings in
the church and in the presbytery (XVIII-XX centuries). A small Austrian military graveyard from the time of the
World War I is situated nearby.